Reflections

Reflections

The first time I enrolled in college I was 18 and fresh out of high school.  I completed one semester and decided that college was not for me.  I was a single parent and I had more than myself to think about, so I got a job.  It was good being able to work and make my own money, but I felt as if something was missing.

During my time off from school I had several family members to graduate from high school, start college, and finish with a degree.  As I found myself being supportive and congratulating them, I realized what was missing, my degree.

At the time I decided to return to school I had started working for Head Start.  Because I was working in an educational environment, in order to keep my job I was required to get a certificate basically saying I was competent to be working with children.  I wanted more and a certificate of competence, I went for the next best thing; my first degree.  I re-enrolled in school to earn my Associates Degree in Early Childhood.  It felt good knowing that years later I had become a family member being supported and congratulated for an academic achievement.  I then felt that that was not enough, I wanted more. So I decided to return to school to get by Bachelor’s Degree, this time in Business Administration.

This journey has not been an easy one. In my pursuit of higher education I have had many problems and setbacks.  Half way through my program class were added that I was not aware of in the beginning, thus extending the time I would be in school.

In this course I have learned a lot about business.  What it takes to start one and keep it going.  I have learned how to get my ideas out to the public, and make them want to be a part of what I have to offer.  The things that I have learned in the course are things that are transferable into other parts of my life, from school to work.

Leave a comment